Interface recommendations

Hey guys, I haven’t quite pulled the trigger (pun intended) on my purchase quite yet as I have a few questions still regarding the overall investment I’ll be making. The two main ones are:
Am I going to have to buy a new laptop? The one I have currently (a 2010 13” MacBook Pro dual core) is running pretty slow these days. Is there a minimum recommended CPU to handle the software effectively? I don’t know if I can afford shelling out $1300 for a new Mac. Any suggestions there??
Secondly, are there any interface suggestions? I’ve heard about the Scarlett, but I’m wondering what else is out there. I’m a bit of a newbie to the digital side of the creative process and I’m not sure exactly WHAT kind of interface to google. :grimacing:

Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks fam

Hey @Drmmr.e!

Tenoch from Sunhouse here – definitely good to get other perspectives from people on the Forum, but here are my thoughts on your Qs.

1. Your laptop sounds a bit on the slow end for Sensory Percussion, but, it will depend on how you plan on using it. If you want to use four sensors, lots of samples and effects at a low buffer size for the lowest latency, plus route the audio to Ableton via the Routing Plugin to record, you will likely run into issues. But if you were planning on a simpler setup with 1 sensor and integraing it into a larger setup where SP maybe isn’t the center of the kit, you might be completely fine. Please keep in mind that SP needs OSX 10.9 to run.